Nothin’ Else To Talk About – Might As Well Write

Why you’re lucky that I’m not very interesting …

Monkeys hurl their poo to express what’s on their minds. Lucky for you (and the housekeeper), I know how to type.

I’ve been doing the Brain Burgers Blog for a few months now and I’m really enjoying the weekly opportunity to explore and explain things that interest me – history, science, archaeology, books, and all kinds of other old stuff. Although I’ve been writing books and stories for twelve years now, blogging is a fairly new thing for me – and I thought I was doing pretty well. But I recently read a how-to article on blog writing that made me realize how poorly I’ve actually been doing it!

I won’t link it here, because I’m embarrassed about the flogging I got and its horrible revelation to me. The article (someone else’s blog post, of course) listed several components of a successful blog. Here are a few that stood out to me:

  • Be controversial (it draws readership and starts “dialogue”)
  • Be topical (to get the benefit of current news and social trends)
  • Write about yourself (to let readers into your world)

I tend to be way wrong on all three of these. Here’s how:

Even ridiculous old stuff is still way more interesting than my best story about college.

  1. I don’t care to be controversial. The word “dialogue” in this context usually means hurt feelings, retaliation, and arguments. I don’t groove on making people angry just to get attention for myself. The wallflower in me (my wife will tell you he’s buried way deep down – but I swear he’s there) doesn’t like drawing that kind of attention.
  2. It’s hard to be topical when you like old stuff and you don’t read the newspaper or watch much TV news. That’s me – I resigned from the debating society awhile ago in favor of developing some peace of mind. (This next statement may offer a year’s worth of coverage for all three of the blog pointers:) I have a hard time maintaining a positive attitude and giving others the kindness they deserve when my channel is clogged with the negativity that comes with most news and pop culture. Don’t get me wrong – I don’t wish to take any of it away from anyone else, there’s just a whole world of OTHER things that I prefer to stimulate my brain cells with.
  3. Lastly, I like to write about what interests me – and I don’t find myself very interesting. People who know me will likely tell you that I like to hear the sound of my own voice, but as for my opinions, my politics, what I’m eating or not eating, who I saw, where, and what I think of them … eh, not so interesting.

This last point may be the reason my eyes take a slot-machine roll into the back of my head when I hear a writer say, “My book is based on my life.”

“Argh!” I want to shout. “But what you’re not very INTERESTING?!”

Interesting old stuff and the interesting Greeks who interestingly created it.

I write action/adventure and thriller fiction precisely because I don’t live an action/adventure/thriller life. Call me weird, but I need to be interested and excited when I sit down to write. There’s also a fair bit of old stuff (see above) in my writing, which gives me another reason to get up in the morning and put my index fingers on F&J.

You might not see a lot of “me” in this blog – although I do reserve the right to let the Chris Everheart Author creature sneak in once in awhile. And, come to think of it, maybe there a few creative and media types out there who could use some pointers from me … But, in the meantime, I hope you continue to enjoy the more interesting stuff that shows up here!

Now, here’s the cheese on this Brain Burger.

The 3 REAL reasons I write action/adventure/thriller/crime stories:

  1. Some Austrian punk stole my idea for bulking up and marketing myself as a monosyllabic action movie icon with a polysyllabic name (you’ll be hearing from my lawyers, Schwarzenegger – if that’s your real name …).
  2. I wanted to be a movie director and figured that writing books would be an easier way in. (The joke’s on me!)
  3. For the chicks, man! What else could it possibly be?
Chris Everheart is author of the thriller
THE LEAGUE OF DELPHI

Available Now
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

